BASF and commodity associations recognize future ag leaders

Agriculture continues to be an evolving industry; as more and more operations are relying on advanced technology, the demand for forward-thinking agricultural professionals continues to increase. According to the National FFA Organization, agriculture communicators, food scientists and precision agriculture technologists are predicted to be top agriculture careers in 2020 and the years to follow.


In an effort to foster the next crop of talented agriculture students and professionals, BASF teamed up with industry-leading commodities to award academic scholarships to students who display profound enthusiasm and passion for agriculture.

  • For the last fourteen years, BASF and the American Soybean Association (ASA) have provided one high school student with a $5,000 academic scholarship in recognition of their academic and leadership skills.
  • Also in its fourteenth year, the William C. Berg Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship is awarded on behalf of BASF and the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) to five aspiring agriculture leaders in honor of William C. Berg, an Ohio farmer and retired postal worker who passed away in 2012.
  • Since 2017, the National Sorghum Foundation (NSF), together with BASF, have awarded two $2,500 scholarships to students exhibiting a strong interest and passion for the industry.
  • BASF and the National Wheat Foundation (NWF) awarded the National Wheat Foundation Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship in memory of Jerry Minore. Jerry was a BASF employee, a liaison for the wheat industry and a passionate advocate for growers. Since his unexpected death in 2012, BASF has partnered with NWF to honor his advocacy efforts for wheat growers through this scholarship.  


“At BASF, we know that the future of agriculture relies heavily on having a strong pipeline of talented individuals entering the industry,” said Scott Kay, Vice President, U.S. Crop, BASF Agricultural Solutions. “It is one of our many goals to help position these individuals for a future career in agriculture. Long-standing partnerships with associations like the ASA, NCGA, NWF and NSF, ensure our industry will continue to have a healthy talent pool of bright, committed individuals like the students receiving this year’s scholarships.”


In recognition of their devotion to the industry, BASF would like to congratulate the following students on their scholarship awards:

  • Emma Kuhns, American Soybean Association Scholarship Recipient
  • Killiann George, William C. Berg Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship Recipient
  • Mardi Traskowsky, William C. Berg Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship, National Sorghum Foundation Scholarship and Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship Recipient
  • Abbey Schiefelbein, William C. Berg Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship Recipient
  • Madeline Weninger, William C. Berg Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship Recipient
  • Matthew Sperry, William C. Berg Excellence in Agriculture Scholarship Recipient