BASF and commodity organizations award $20,000 in academic scholarships to student agriculture leaders to aid future industry success

ANAHEIM, CA, February 28, 2018 – Today at the annual Commodity Classic tradeshow, BASF awarded academic scholarships to 12 future agriculture leaders today in partnership with the American Soybean Association (ASA), the National Sorghum Foundation (NSF), the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA) and the National Wheat Foundation (NWF).


American Soybean Association Soy Scholarship


BASF and ASA presented the 2018–2019 ASA Soy Scholarship to McKenna Nielsen of Audubon, Iowa, who will attend Morningside College. Nielsen earned the $5,000 scholarship by exhibiting strong academics and leadership skills while also planning to pursue a degree in an agriculture-related field at Morningside College.


“ASA is proud to once again team up with BASF to honor a young future ag leader,” said John Heisdorffer, ASA President and farmer from Keota, Iowa. “We are excited McKenna has chosen a career in agriculture and look forward to seeing her future successes in the field.”


National Sorghum Foundation – BASF Scholarship


BASF and the NSF presented $2,500 scholarships to Micah Arthaud of Keyes, Oklahoma, and Payton Harrell, of Spearman, Texas. Arthaud is a sophomore at Oklahoma State University double majoring in biosystems and agricultural engineering, with a minor in agricultural economics and agribusiness. Harrell is a junior at Texas Tech University studying agricultural communications. They earned this award by pursuing agriculture-related degrees and being heavily involved in their universities’ extracurricular activities.


“The National Sorghum Foundation, in partnership with BASF, is very pleased to award scholarships to these two very deserving individuals,” said Larry Lambright, NSF Chairman. “Students like Payton and Micah, with their commitment and dedication, make the future of agriculture very bright.”


National Corn Growers Association Scholarships


The NCGA and BASF awarded the William C. Berg Excellence in Agriculture scholarship to five aspiring college students pursuing degrees in an agriculture-related field. The scholarship was created to honor William C. Berg, an Ohio farmer and retired postal worker who passed away in 2012.


Scholarships of $1,000 were awarded to the following students: Nicole Gutzmann, a Ph.D. student from Raleigh, North Carolina, pursuing a degree in entomology with a social science minor in genetic engineering and society at North Carolina State University; Emily Kreinbrink a junior from Columbus, Ohio, studying food science and technology at Ohio State University; Stephen Schwartz a sophomore from West Lafayette, Indiana, studying agronomy with a focus in crop and soil management at Purdue University; Santiago Tamagno, a graduate student from Manhattan, Kansas, studying agronomy at Kansas State University; and Samantha Teten, a junior from Johnson, Nebraska, studying agronomy at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.


“Agriculture is an exciting industry that is constantly changing, evolving and growing to meet society’s need for food, feed, fuel and a host of sustainable products,” said Kevin Skunes, NCGA President and corn grower from Arthur, North Dakota. “A new generation of leaders, led by these scholarship winners, will be key contributors to the industry’s continued success.”


National Wheat Foundation Scholarships


The National Wheat Foundation Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship was named after Jerry Minore, a BASF Senior Marketing Manager and a liaison to the wheat industry. Since his unexpected death in 2012, BASF has partnered with NWF to fund scholarships to honor his advocacy efforts for wheat growers.


This year’s winners of two $1,500 National Wheat Foundation Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship awards are talented students who are passionate about pursuing careers in agriculture: Kayla Beechinor, a junior from Walla Walla, Washington, double majoring in ag biotech and field crop management at Washington State University; and Sarah Ann Moyer, a junior from Emporia, Kansas, studying agriculture communications and journalism Kansas State University.


The winners of two $1,000 National Wheat Foundation Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship awards are future agribusiness professionals who have exhibited strong academics: Kennedy Klein, a junior from Fargo, North Dakota, majoring in crop and weed science with a minor in botany at North Dakota State University; and Matthew Klopfenstein, a sophomore from Haviland, Ohio, studying ag engineering at Ohio State University.


“This year’s scholarship recipients are helping to carry on Jerry Minore’s dreams, legacy and love for wheat,” said Phil McLain, NWF Chairman and Northern Carolina wheat grower. “We are very proud to honor this year’s winners, and are excited to see what the future has in store for them.”


“The long-term success of agriculture relies on passionate students who have a true desire to take part in advancing our industry,” said Scott Kay, BASF Vice President of U.S. Crop Protection. “I’m looking forward to following the paths of these intelligent students, knowing we may one day have the privilege of employing them.”


BASF, ASA, NCGA, NSF and NWF are dedicated to supporting the next generation of agriculture leaders. For more information about the initiatives BASF supports, visit


About BASF’s Crop Protection division


With a rapidly growing population, the world is increasingly dependent on our ability to develop and maintain sustainable agriculture and healthy environments. BASF’s Crop Protection division works with farmers, agricultural professionals, pest management experts and others to help make this possible. With their cooperation, BASF is able to sustain an active R&D pipeline, an innovative portfolio of products and services, and teams of experts in the lab and in the field to support customers in making their businesses succeed. In 2016, BASF’s Crop Protection division generated sales of €5.6 billion. For more information, please visit us at or on any of our social media channels.


About BASF


BASF Corporation, headquartered in Florham Park, New Jersey, is the North American affiliate of BASF SE, Ludwigshafen, Germany. BASF has nearly 17,500 employees in North America, and had sales of $16.2 billion in 2016. For more information about BASF’s North American operations, visit


At BASF, we create chemistry for a sustainable future. We combine economic success with environmental protection and social responsibility. The approximately 114,000 employees in the BASF Group work on contributing to the success of our customers in nearly all sectors and almost every country in the world. Our portfolio is organized into five segments: Chemicals, Performance Products, Functional Materials & Solutions, Agricultural Solutions and Oil & Gas. BASF generated sales of about €58 billion in 2016. BASF shares are traded on the stock exchanges in Frankfurt (BAS), London (BFA) and Zurich (BAS). Further information at